Weight Watchers Wednesday


So post baby I am back on my weight watchers diet. Pre-baby I lost 50 pounds with weight watchers and exercise. I have found that most of the recipes aren’t that bad and generally don’t taste like “diet” food. The thing is with weight watchers you can eat what ever you want, just in moderation. What I mean is, you can have a piece of cake but you need to have a small piece and not eat it every day. Just one day. Now if you have a sweet tooth like me then that does suck a little. However, weight watchers has some VERY yummy ice cream and “snacks.”

For my first weight watchers Wednesday post I am going to to discuss the Chicken Piccata that I made. The recipe is as follows:

 (I know this is a pic of veal but this is what it looked like)

2 tbsp coarse-grained Dijon Mustard

1 lg egg

1/4 c italian seasoned bread crumbs

4 (1/4lb) skinless boneless chicken breast halves, lightly pounded

2 tsp olive oil

2 tsp chicken broth

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp minced fresh parsley (or 1 tsp dried)

Lemon slices

1. Combing the mustard and egg in a shallow bowl. Place the bread crumbs on a sheet of wax paper. Dip the chicken in the mustard mixture, then in the bread crumbs

2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Swirl in the oil (instead of oil I just use Pam), and then add the chicken. Cook, until golden and cooked through. About 5 minutes on each side. Transfer the chicken to a platter and keep warm.

3. Add the chicken broth and lemon juice to the same skillet. Simmer 30 seconds, stir in the parsley. Pour the sauce over the chicken and garnish with the lemon slices

 

 

Points: 5

Servings: 4

Nutritional Info per serving (1 chicken cutlet with 1/4th of the sauce)

Cals: 225; Fat: 7g; Sat Fat: 2g; Chol: 116mg; Sod: 368mg; Carb: 11g; Fib: 0g ; Prot: 26g; Calc: 50mg

So here’s my review. Not bad. Very zesty and easily paired with any vegetable (we had corn and peas.) Also, this dish was so simple to make. I literally was done in less than 30 minutes. THAT ROCKS in my house (I have a 6 month old who requires my constant attention.) Also, she helped me cook. Okay, really she just sat in her bumbo while I told her what I was doing. Her contribution was throwing her rattle on the floor every five seconds. Which if she hadn’t done I’m pretty sure I would have been done cooking in 15 minutes. Anyways, the true test of taste comes from my husband. He is the worlds PICKIEST eater. As per him, it was “very good” which means we will defiantly be making this one again! Score for weight watchers 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Weight Watchers Wednesday

Leave a Reply

