Chicken Chow Mein


Last night we had Chicken Chow Mein for dinner. It wasn’t half bad, but it did lack a touch in flavor.  It wasn’t too compicated to prepare. I used chow mein noodles, if you don’t have those available to you then you can substitute thin spaghetti.  Since I was able to find Chow Mein noodles at my local Wal-Mart, which generally has NOTHING, you shouldn’t have any problem at your local grocery store. If you do have difficulties,  then you can always go to Publix. They have EVERYTHING!  The recipe is as follows:

6 oz chow mein (or thin spaghetti)

2/3 c low-sodium chicken broth

2 tbsp dry sherry

2 tsp cornstarch

1/2 tsp salt

3 tsp canola oil

1 lb skinless boneless chicken breast, cut into thin strips

1 onion, chopped

1 tbsp minced peeled fresh ginger

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped

1 celery stalk, chopped

1. Cook the chow mein noodles or spaghetti according to package directions; drain.

2. Combine the broth, sherry, cornstach, and salt in a small bowl; set aside.

3. Heat a nonstick wok or a large, deep skillet over high heat until a drop of water sizzles. Swirl in 2 tsps of the oil., then add the chicken. Stir-fry until just cooked through, 4-5 minutes. Transfer to plate.

4. Swirl the remaining 1 tsp oil into the wok, then add the onon, ginger, and garlic. Stir-fry until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the bell pepper and celery; stir-fry until crisp-tender, about 2 minutes. Add the chicken and broth mixture. Cook, stirring, constantly, until the mixture boils and thickens, about 2 minutes. Serve over the cooked noodles.

Per serving (1 1/4 cup): 359 Cals, 7g Fat, 1 g Sat Fat, 63mg Chol, 379mg Sod, 42g Carb, 4g Fib, 30g Prot, 42 mg alc.

Points: 7

3 Comments

Filed under Weight Watchers Wednesday

3 responses to “Chicken Chow Mein

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

