New “Kiki” for Stink


As you might recall my little Stinkerbell has an affinity for sucking on things. She used to have this purple lovey, you can read about it here, until I tried to replace it with an identical new one. She totally didn’t buy it though. So, I washed it and put it in a safe place. That is when she decided that she would become attached to two blankets that some one gave us. They are these adorable and soft blankets that have fluffiness on one side and channell (sp?) lining the other. Huh? Channell?????? Yeah….. so that made it through all of like 10 washings. Then I had to cut the linings off because they were shredding and I’m a first time mommy and the thought kept racing through my head “what if she chokes on it?????????” So we were then left with two hideously ugly blankets that my Stinkerbell is completely attached to. More so than the lovey. She calls both the blankets “kiki.” I guess she couldn’t say “blanket.” Who knows. THat’s also what she calls one of my sisters…… Well, as you can imagine these blankets are worn and torn. I thought since I am sewing now that I would make her a new one. Here is what I did:

Materials:

1 yard of soft fluffy type fabric (machine washable is a must with little ones!)

1 yard of lining (again, machine washable people!- we’re talking about a two year old here :))
2 packages of corresponding piping (about 5 yards total I think.)

Step 1. Cut both the main fabric and lining to your desired length

Step 2. Pin the piping to the wrong side of the main fabric with the piping part just hanging over the edge. When you have to use a new piece of piping just do it like this- on the last inch of the piping undo the stitching and cut out the inserted cording. Then place the new strand of piping in at where you cut off the old piping. Continue to pin.

Step 3. You can skip this step if you are more advanced at sewing. I am not, so I sewed the piping onto the main fabric to help keep it in place.

Step 4. Pin the main fabric and lining fabric wrong sides together so that the piping is sandwiched between them. Sew around the seams leaving a two inch opening.

Step 5. Trim any excess and then turn right side out.

Step6. Close up your hole and then continue to top stitch around the blanket outside to give it a finished look.

Here is mine:

blanket 1

Sorry the pic is so crappy. It was late and all I had handy was the Iphone

blanket 2

She is SUPER into hearts right now. She is showing me each of the hearts on "new kiki" Sadly though, she wouldn't give up the old ones... Now we have 3 kikis.....

Leave a comment

Filed under LC, sewing

Leave a Reply

